motec m48 communication problem

For discussion of engine managment computers; the boxes that run fuel injection, ignition and other engine-related functions.

Moderators: Alex, Neel

motec m48 communication problem

Postby mh » Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:25 am

I'm unable to retreive anything from the ecu. if i try and enter ajust, diagnostics all i get is the retreiving data screen and it stays like that for 5min+ and nothing happens.

the ecu is found by the computer but i cant off load or upload anything. (pops up the second i plugg in the cable, shows

it's a second hand unit. and i'm afraid it's not working like it should, but i'm hoping it's something else.

do i have to use spesific comport settings? (connected to laptop with seriel com port) oem motec cable.
spesific software for particular version ecu? (v6.13)
if it's password protected the ecu will ask for the password rigth?
mh - fab
welding - fabrication - wireharness
mh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:06 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby Neel » Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:05 am

If you had the wrong software version, it would tell you. Are you using the MOTEC-specific download cable? If the ECU is being recognized by the laptop, the comms port is not the problem. It will prompt you for a password if that was the issue.

Do you have another serial device that connects to this laptop okay? Is there another M4, M8 or M48 you could try?

Regards,

Neel
Neel Vasavada
Apex Speed Technology
2947 S. Sepulveda Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(P)310.314.2005
(f)310.496.0951
neel@apexspeedtech.com
http://www.apexspeedtech.com
User avatar
Neel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:00 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby mh » Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:17 pm

my autronic sm4 connects just fine through the com port. i've got a friend with a motec MLS that I can try when he gets back.

I've got an v6.13 ecu, som i'm going to try and update it to v6.20. it will take a couple of days 'cause i have to send the ecu back and forth.

i se that in the release notes from motec there is a particular note about a v6.13d or something wich mentions some com ports and windows fixes.

the ecu is recogniced by the laptop, so i don't think that's the problem either.

i'll let you know when i get it back. sometime next week.
mh - fab
welding - fabrication - wireharness
mh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:06 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby mh » Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:09 am

just got the ecu back, same problem.

checked and duble checked the connection to the d9.

i'm running out of ideas.

opened the motec cable. the computer only has 3 connections. tx, rx and gnd. pin 2,3 and 5. are those the only ones needed? no loopbacks for RTS, CTS and all that?
mh - fab
welding - fabrication - wireharness
mh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:06 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby Neel » Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:13 pm

just got the ecu back, same problem.

checked and duble checked the connection to the d9.

i'm running out of ideas.

opened the motec cable. the computer only has 3 connections. tx, rx and gnd. pin 2,3 and 5. are those the only ones needed? no loopbacks for RTS, CTS and all that?


Have you been able to try another computer?
Neel Vasavada
Apex Speed Technology
2947 S. Sepulveda Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(P)310.314.2005
(f)310.496.0951
neel@apexspeedtech.com
http://www.apexspeedtech.com
User avatar
Neel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:00 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby mh » Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:04 pm

will try another computer today, if it doesn't work i'm going with a Vi-pec v44 ecu 'till i can figure it out. the motec is a used ecu, so it could be broke for all i know.
mh - fab
welding - fabrication - wireharness
mh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:06 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby Neel » Sat Sep 13, 2008 4:46 am

We're both a VIPEC and MOTEC dealer, so we can help you out either way!

If you want to send the ECU to us, we can take a look at it and drive it over to MOTEC for them to see if they can figure it out.

-Neel
Neel Vasavada
Apex Speed Technology
2947 S. Sepulveda Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064
(P)310.314.2005
(f)310.496.0951
neel@apexspeedtech.com
http://www.apexspeedtech.com
User avatar
Neel
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 5:00 am

Re: motec m48 communication problem

Postby mh » Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:39 pm

the vipec is in the car now, hope to start tomorrow. figers crossed =) hehe.

i've been in contact with motec UK, it's much closer and they seem to know their stuff. will be sending the ecu there when i find the time.

have you installed any vipec systems?
i've been thinking about what load sensing that would be best, considering the ITB's and turbo that i'm running.

fuel is TPS, main table and a 2nd overlay map comp table, thinking about doing the same for ign.
mh - fab
welding - fabrication - wireharness
mh
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 11:06 am


Return to Engine Management Systems (ECUs)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest